Inspiration: Stir fried ratatouille with sweet potato fries

2014-08-24 13.32.48Sometimes I have my meal all planned out before I go get my groceries, but this time I had absolutely no clue. So I was walking around the supermarket, trying to think of something to make for dinner. Then I saw this beautiful aubergine and I decided I needed to use that in some way. Next to it, there were zucchinis and that’s when the ratatouille came to my mind. So I got a bell pepper and onions to go with it. Because I love sweet sweet potatoes I just took them a long as well without even knowing what I was going to do with them. I chose some sausages to go with it.

At home, I searched for sweet potato recipes and the sweet potato fries from Uit Pauline’s Keukenย were just the right thing to accompany the ratatouille. However, I didn’t want to make a traditional ratatouille, so I chose to stir fry the vegetables in the wok.1408630411504

ย I simply cut up the vegetables coarsely and baked them with dried basil and olive oil.ย 

The sweet potato fries were a bit more work. Since the recipe didn’t involve pre-cooking them, I had to cut them while they were raw. Without a food processor, this was quite the task as the sweet potatoes were extremely hard! Eventually I managed it (although it took a lot of time) and spread them out on the baking tray to cover them with the spices. I used sea salt,cayennepeper and Italian spices. Then they went into the oven for 25 minutes on 200 degrees Celsius. When I checked them after the 25 minute mark, they had browned a bit and they had become kind of crispy, so I figured they were ready to eat!

10597253_758343074211286_2013881013_n

Find the full recipe for the Sweet potato fries on this page.

Both the vegetables and the fries were very fragrant because of the spices I used on them, so my house smelled delicious! The vegetables were still a bit firm, as I didn’t stir fry them too long. I especially loved the sweet potato fries! They were both sweet from the taste of the potatoes itself, as well as savory from the salt and spices used on them. It was a great and healthy meal and all of that even without any planning beforehand.

Conclusion: random inspiration worked out very well!

Love, Emily

Geef een reactie

