Recipe: Sloppy Joes

Sloppy Joes recipe, NombelinaSomehow, I have a weakness for typical American food. There is something to it that makes me want to cook or bake it myself and Sloppy Joes were one of those things that were on my ‘Food I’d like to make’ list. I have been wanting to make Sloppy Joes for such a long time, but I couldn’t find a recipe that used all ingredients that I could buy in the Netherlands. So I was extremely exited when this recipe was posted on Nombelina’s Food Blog. It had only ingredients in it that I could find with one trip to my local Albert Heijn supermarket.

For me, the all-American Sloppy Joes are the ultimate Pumpkin soup, Sloppy Joes recipeweekend dinner: just throw everything for the meat and the sauce in a large wok pan, let it simmer and it will turn out fine. Serve it on a hamburger bun and enjoy it! It is hardly any work and it tastes awesome! It looks kind of like a manly dish with the minced meat and the barbecue sauce in it. However, the sweetness of the tomatoes and sugar and the smoky flavor of the barbecue sauce is liked by almost everyone I know, females as well!. And if you don’t put too much chilli and worcestershire sauce in it children will love it too. The sauce tastes just perfect and the red paprika and onion give a little bite to the minced meat mixture.I used premade hamburger buns, as we had been helping my brother and sister in law move to their new home all day and I didn’t have time to bake my own hamburger buns like the recipe from Nombelina suggests.

This time I chose to serve pumpkin soup with it, as I wanted my family to have a complete and filling meal. The Sloppy Joes can be enough for dinner on their own though, because they have enough body, especially if you have been eating decently all day (which we didn’t).

The recipe from Nombelina asks for the following ingredients:

  • 500 g (17.5 ounces) half mince beef and half mince pork
  • 1 onion, finely chopped
  • 1 red pepper, chopped into small cubes
  • 2 garlic cloves, finely chopped or grated
  • 1 red chili, finely chopped
  • 2 tbsp tomato paste
  • 250 g (9 ounces) passata (sieved tomatoes)
  • Β½ cup (120ml)Β  barbecue sauce
  • 2 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 tbsp dark brown sugar
  • ΒΌ-Β½ tsp chili powder
  • Salt and pepper
  • Flavorless oil for frying

Because my Albert Heijn ran out of packages of half mince beef and half mince pork, I used just 500 grams of minced beef. It worked out very well.

Sloppy Joes recipe, NombelinaSloppy Joes recipe, Nombelina

Follow these few and easy steps to your own Sloppy Joes:

  1. Take a large pan or wok. Fry the onion and red pepper in a bit of oil until softened. Add the garlic and red chili and cook until fragrant.
  2. Add the minced meat and loosen it while cooking. Once the meat has browned, add the tomato paste, Worcestershire sauce and the sugar. Mix well.
  3. Add the passata, barbecue sauce and chili powder. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Let the sauce simmer to develop the flavors.
  4. Serve it together with the hamburger buns.

You can make the sauce in advance and keep it in theSloppy Joes recipe, Nombelina refridgerator the different flavors will infuse more, making the sauce even tastier. Same goes for leftovers, as long as you put them in a closed container in the refridgerator.

We all loved the Sloppy Joes after a day of hard work and we will definetely make it another time soon. So once again, thank you Nombelina for this recipe!

Love, Emily

2 gedachtes over “Recipe: Sloppy Joes

Geef een reactie

