Cookbook: Baking with the Cake Boss part two

Double Chocolate chip cookies, Cakeboss

So I am working my way through the ‘Baking with the Cake Boss‘ cookbook. The book suggests you follow the book in order to progressively increase you baking abilities and I must say I am probably going to skip some recipes due to time constraints. But because I want to make one of the more advanced cakes for Christmas, I feel like I should practice a bit. I made the first recipe for Butter cookies already, so I figured I needed to take the next step.

So today I baked the double chocolate chip cookies, the second recipe in the Cakeboss book. It isn’t a complex recipe at all. It asks for the following ingredients:

  • 230 grams butter
  • 220 grams granulated sugar
  • 75 grams of light brown caster sugar
  • 35 grams cacao
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • 265 grams flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 175 grams dark chocolate chips
  • Oven set to 160 degrees Celcius

I used skim milk where the recipe asked for full fat milk, because skim milk was the only one I had around. For the butter I used Blue Band Cake & Koekjes, a butter that is specially designed for baking cookies and cakes. I saw it in the supermarket and wanted to try it, so this recipe was the perfect opportunity to test it. It came out just right and I’d like to use it again.

Double Chocolate chip cookies, CakebossThe recipe itself was again Double Chocolate chip cookies, Cakebosseasy to follow, with every step well described. It makes it almost impossible to fail on making these cookies.

  1. Mix the butter and both of the sugars untill it is smooth on a low speed.
  2. Add the cacao, egg and vanilla ectract and mix again untill it looks a bit like a chocolate glaze. Make sure to scrape the sides of the bowl between the mixing to let all of the ingredients mix well.
  3. Mix in the milk for 30 seconds.
  4. Mix the flour and baking powder together in a separate Double Chocolate chip cookies, Cakebossbowl. Then add it to the chocolate mixture and mix it on a low speed again.
  5. Scrape the sides of the bowl and mix again.
  6. Add the chocolate chips while mixing. Try to divide them evenly through the batter.
  7. Divide the dough into small portions and roll it into 24 balls. Place them on a baking tray with 5 cm between each ball.
  8. Bake the cookies for 13 to 15 minutes untill they are flat and hot. They look like they are not done by then, but they are! Let them cool down and they will harden on their own. Use a spatula to get them off the baking tray as soon as you can.

Some little notes of my own:

First of all: it can be hard to make the dough balls all the same size. My first ones were way too small and when I noticed that I would have too much dough left I added some more dough to the smaller ones untill I had no dough left and all of the balls were about the same size.

Another thing is that I used baking sheets on the oven tray, even though this was not described in the recipe. It worked out well, my cookies were not harmed by this in any way, so feel free to make your own choice in this.

Double Chocolate chip cookies, CakebossMy baking tray was too small, so when the dough balls were flattening in the oven, the dough of the different balls started to touch the others next to it. Basically, all of my cookies were connected to eachother when I took them out of the oven. One was even totally square! (Can you spot him in the picture?) So you might want to use either two trays or bake in two portions for perfectly round cookies.

And last but not least: This cookie dough is one of the tastiest I ever had. Yes, I am a spoon licker, even though this one had one raw egg in it. Shame on me, but it was too good!

I am already looking forward to make my next recipe from ‘Baking with the Cake Boss‘. See you next time!

Love, Emily

4 gedachtes over “Cookbook: Baking with the Cake Boss part two

  1. Ingrid zegt:

    Gemaakt met ingredienten die in huis waren. Niet geheel volgens jouw recept, maar ze zijn heerlijk dank je voor het recept! Ik ga dat boek toch maar bestellen.

    Like

Geef een reactie

