Recipe: Roasted chickpeas with honey and cinnamon

Roated chickpeas with honey and cinnamon

I am always on the lookout for new things to snack on, especially healthy snacks. I had read about roasted chickpeas a couple of times and I had pinned some recipes on Pinterest months ago already. Chickpeas are very healthy and low in calories. They become crunchy when you roast them in the oven, so it is a perfect snack when you are craving something crunchy. With chili or parmesan seemed very tasty, but I wanted to try a sweet version first, so today I made a batch of honey cinnamon chickpeas. I only made a very tiny can, because I didn’t know if I would like it (which I deeply regret now, as you might understand).

What do you need?Roated chickpeas with honey and cinnamonRoated chickpeas with honey and cinnamon

  • Can of chickpeas
  • Honey
  • Olive oil
  • Cinnamon
  • A pinch of salt

Notice how I didn’t mention how much you need of everything. You have to make sure the honey mixture is enough to lightly coat the chickpeas, so all the measurements depend on the amount of chickpeas you are making. I only had a tiny can for a snack, but you could make them in larger quantities for parties as well.

How to prepare them:

  1. Preheat the oven to 200 degrees Celcius and place a sheet of baking parchment on a baking tray.
  2. Drain and rinse the chickpeas. Then remove the skins (I guess you could leave them on as well, as it is time consuming to remove the skins).
  3. Place the chickpeas on the baking tray, making sure they are spread on the tray, and roast the chickpeas in the oven for at least 20 minutes (or untill the chickpeas have become crunchy)
  4. Mix the honey, olive oil, cinnamon and salt in a small bowl untill you have a thick sauce. Don’t use too much oil, or the ingredients won’t mix well enough.
  5. Take the chickpeas out of the oven and throw them into the sauce. Stir them around to make sure Roated chickpeas with honey and cinnamonevery chickpea is evenly coated.
  6. Put them back on the baking tray. Make sure to separate the chickpeas, or they will be stuck together after the second part of the roasting.
  7. Place in the oven again for 5 to 10 minutes (not too long, or the caramel from the honey will burn and ruin your chickpeas).
  8. After this, let them cool and enjoy them!

I truely loved them! The chickpeas are almost like nuts after roasting, so crunchy. And the honey and cinnamon sauce makes them sweet, but the salt in it adds a nice twist. I wished I had made a larger batch, because they were gone before I knew it. A good reason to make them another time soon.

Roated chickpeas with honey and cinnamon

Love, Emily

 

2 gedachtes over “Recipe: Roasted chickpeas with honey and cinnamon

Geef een reactie

