Recipe: Cranberry-pecan Oatmeal cookies with white chocolate (Great Foodblogger Cookie Swap)

Cranberry-pecan Oatmeal cookies with white chocolateThe Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap 2014

A couple of months ago, I noticed a post on another blog about the Great Foodblogger Cookie Swap. To be truthfull, I first thought I could not join this event, because it was based and organised mainly in the US. But after I did some research, I found out that it was actually an international event and I could join even in the Netherlands! I really loved the idea of baking cookies for random other foodbloggers and receiving cookies from other foodbloggers as well. But the thing that made me want to do this even more is the fact that it supports Cookies for Kids’ Cancer.
So I signed up, hoping that some other Dutch foodbloggers would join as well so I could have some matches.

Fortunately, they did (!) and as soon as I got my matches I knew what I was going to bake:
Cranberry-pecan Oatmeal cookies with white chocolate.
I had oatmeal cookies on my to bake list like forever, and I figuCranberry-pecan Oatmeal cookies with white chocolatered it would be the right cookie to make for others and their sturdy texture would make it through the shipping process.

What do you need to bake these cookies?

◾ 240 grams of butter on room temperature
◾180 grams dark brown sugarCranberry-pecan Oatmeal cookies with white chocolate
◾120 grams sugar
◾1 egg
◾2 tsp vanilla extract
◾420 grams all purpose flour
◾1 tsp baking soda
◾ 1/2 tsp baking powder
◾1/4 tsp cinnamonCranberry-pecan Oatmeal cookies with white chocolate
◾360 grams uncooked quick cook oats
◾360 grams dried cranberries
◾100 grams pecans
◾150 grams of white chocolate

How to bake the cookies:

1: Preheat the oven to 170 degrees Celcius.Cranberry-pecan Oatmeal cookies with white chocolate

2: Whisk the butter and sugars together until they are well combined.

3: Add the wet ingredients: the egg and vanilla extract and mix until well combined.

4: Then add all the dry ingredients: the flour, baking soCranberry-pecan Oatmeal cookies with white chocolateda, baking powder and cinnamon and mix until well combined.

5: Add the oats and mix until a thick dough forms. It gets really thick and this is supposed to happen. (My handmixer almost coudn’t handle this dough!)

6: Stir in the cranberries and the pecans. Crumble the pecans with your hands.

7: Use a tablespoon to spoon balls of cookie dough onto a baking paper lined cookie sheet.

8: Bake the cookies for 10 minutes. Do not over bake the cookies asCranberry-pecan Oatmeal cookies with white chocolate they will harden when they are cooling.

9: Let cookies cool for about 2 minutes on the cookie sheet, then remove to cooling rack to let them cool further.

10: Once the cookies have cooled down entirely, melt the white chocolate au bain marie.Cranberry-pecan Oatmeal cookies with white chocolate

11: Dip the cookies into the white chocolate, one at a time, and shake to remove excess chocolate. The drying process takes quite a while, but it is worth the wait!

After baking them, I had to pack them for shipping. I was quite worried they wouldn’t make it through the shipping process without breaking, so I took quite some protective measures, like cushioning and packing them in two boxes. Then after shipping, the waiting began. I was very curious about if the recipiants would like my cookies and about the cookies I was about to receive. After a few days of sending my cookies, I got the news that my cookies arrived all in one piece. Something I was so happy about!

Cranberry-pecan Oatmeal cookies with white chocolateThen, a few days after that I received the cookies from Writing Temptations and Cooking my Dreams. I was so exited! It was very funny, because they were both delivered at the same time and they were in the same kind of cookie tin. I guess great minds think alike! The cookies were not the same ate all. Writing Temptations got me these wonderful sweet cinnamon white chocolate cookies and Cooking my Dreams baked me cantucci which were dunked in a specific Italian wine. Both of them were absolutely delicious and they were devoured by me and my family within a couple of days. Thanks again to the both of you for making this such a wonderful experience!!
image

It was a pleasure joining in the Great Foodblogger Cookie Swap 2014. I loved every aspect of it and I would recommend every foodblogger in the Netherlands to join next year. The more the merrier!

Love, Emily

6 gedachtes over “Recipe: Cranberry-pecan Oatmeal cookies with white chocolate (Great Foodblogger Cookie Swap)

  1. My Linh zegt:

    Omg the recipe!!!! These were so so good <33 loved the flavor, texture, scent… Everything! ^^ thank you for participating, for sending us cookies and finally, for sharing the recipe for theses di-vine cookies ^____^ hope to meet in fbcookieswap 2015 😉

    Like

Geef een reactie

