Recipe: Double layer Carrot Cake

image

Today we are celebrating the birthdays of both my father and I, so this is the excellent time to bake some cakes. I chose to make both of our favorite cakes, which is apple pie for my father and carrot cake for me. I have been wanting to make a carrot cake for years, but I was afraid it would not be a cake everyone liked. Now that carrot cake has become a bit more mainstream, I figured I would just give it a go. I have this amazing book with recipes from the Hummingbird Bakery and it has a recipe in it for an iced carrot cake with 3 layers. However, it calls for a springform with a 20 centimeter diameter, which is something I don’t own. So I decided to do some adaptations in the recipe and make a two-layered carrot cake based on the recipe from the Hummingbird Bakery book.

What do you need to bake this cake?

◾2 springforms of 24 centimeter
image

diameter, with parchment paper on the bottom.
◾ 300 grams of brown caster sugar
◾ 3 eggs
◾ 300 ml sunflower oil
◾ 300 grams of flour
◾ 1 teaspoon baking soda
◾ 1 teaspoon baking powder
◾ 1 teaspoon cinnamon
◾ half a teaspoon ginger powder
◾ half a teaspoon salt
◾ a quarter teaspoon vanilla extract
◾ 200 grams grated carrot
◾ 100 grams walnuts, finely chopped plus extra to garnish

For the icing:
◾ 200 grams of cream cheese
◾ 500 grams of powdered sugar, sieved
◾ 100 grams of butter

I used less carrot and icing than in the original recipe. Less carrot because I felt it was loaded already with 200 grams and less icing because I made it with one less layer than the original recipe. I also bought carrot that was already cut ‘julienne’. You could grate it yourself, but I just didn’t have that much time and this works just as well.

How do you make this wonderful cake?

image

1: Pre-heat the oven to 170 degrees
Celcius.
2: Mix together the sugar, eggs and sunflower oil.
3: Mix the dry ingredients together in a separate bowl.
4: Gradually add the dry ingredients tothe wet ingredients and add the vanilla extract. Keep mixing untill everything is blended well.
5: Use a metal spoon to fold the carrot and the walnuts in untill they have spread nicely through the batter.
6: Divide the batter over the two
image

springforms and egalise the top with either a paletknife or the back of a spoon.
7: Bake the cakes for 20 to 25 minutes. The cake should bounce back when you press on it.
8: Let the cakes cool inside the springform for a little while and then take them out to let them cool further.
9: Place the bottom cake on the plate you want to display it on.
10: Mix together the cream cheese,
image

powdered sugar and butter for 5 minutes untill the icing is light and has a nice white color.
11: Use a paletknife to spread about a
image

quarter of the icing in the top of the bottom cake.
12: Place the second cake on top of it and spread the icing on top and on the sides.
13: Garnish with the walnuts on the side and some cinnamon on the top.
14: Place the cake in the refridgerator to help the icing set.

The cake seems hard to make, but I thought it was very manageable. Making the batter is easy and so is making the icing. It is the actual icing of the cake that is the most work, but if you take the time for that it is not hard after all.

I absolutely loved this cake! The cake itself was tasty, not with a strong flavor, but just hints of vanilla and cinnamon. The carrot is noticable for sure, giving the cake some texture (together with the walnuts) and a little bit of a fresh taste. The cake was neither too dry, nor too soggy. The cream cheese icing is sweet, of course, but I personally believe it is less sweet than regular butter cream icing. It gives the cake that little extra it needs and I love it! And so did my family members who tried it at our birthdays, so I was very satisfied with how it worked out!

image

Love, Emily

2 gedachtes over “Recipe: Double layer Carrot Cake

Geef een reactie

