Inspiration: Salad with bulgur, sweet potato and halloumi

image

After making the chickpea burger, I had quite a lot of sweet potato and lettuce left. I don’t like to waste food, so I decided to incorporate these ingredients in a salad to take with me the next day. I eat at the dance studio between classes on thursdays and I always like to have some kind of salad. I also had a bag of bulgur and quinoa from Zonnatura which you only have to heat for 2 minutes in the microwave and wanted to use that as well. So I got a bit creative this time and added pomegranate seeds, pecans and grilled halloumi to the salad.

Halloumi was on my Food Bucket list and something I really wanted to try (I checked that box now). Grilling it was quite easy, I just put it in a dry pan and made sure to turn it regularly. I liked the taste of the halloumi: a bit salty and a mix of goat cheese and mozzarella. I do think my grilling technique needed some work, as the halloumi turned out a bit rubbery. Not like I expected it to be.

What’s in the salad?

◾1 bag of Zonnatura bulgur and quinoa
◾Roasted sweet potato
◾Lettuce
◾Grilled halloumi
◾The seeds of half a pomegranate
◾A handful of pecans

I just put everything in the lunchbox and gave it a little mix. So easy, but it was so delicious together! It has many different flavors and textures, which is something I can really appreciate. The salad is light, but it still kept me fueled for the entire night of dance classes. So it is definetely one I would like to eat again.

Love, Emily

Geef een reactie

