Review: Oreo icecream sticks

image

I have a weakness for anything that has Oreo in it. It doesn’t matter if it is in a cake, milkshake, chocolate, dessert or just on its’ own. There is just something about the combination of the dark, chocolate cookies and the vanilla layer inbetween the cookies that is perfect! Sweet, but not too sweet, crunchy and soft at the same time. So when I heard about this Magnum-like Oreo icecream, I had to get my hands on it. Because, well, icecream is one of my other weaknesses (yep, I am indeed a massive sweettooth) and what could be better than combining the two? It took me a couple of months to find them unfortunately. I almost feared they wouldn’t make it to my local Albert Heijn, but then, all of a sudden, they were there! There was only one box left actually, which I took home with me of course.

image

There are 4 Oreo icecream sticks in one box, which is a fair amount. The box has the same recognisable blue color as all of the other Oreo products and the Oreo logo. The icecream itself looks like a Magnum kind of icecream: the outside is a hard cookie layer, like the chocolate, and inside there is the icecream.
image

The outside is actually made of the Oreo cookies, which I absolutely loved! For some reason I expected the Oreo only inside and expected the outside to be chocolate. It is just as dark, almost black as the cookies and it has the exact same crumbly, almost sandy texture and flavor.ย I could imagine that someone doesn’t like the sandy texture, but if you already like Oreos, it probably doesn’t bother you. I think it is so great that they didn’t make an Oreo flavored layer, but actually made the outside of the cookies. The same goes for the inside. Of course there is vanilla icecream in it, but the ice tastes just like the cream between the two cookies of an Oreo. In the icream are little dark speckles of the cookies, giving a little bite to the otherwise smooth icecream. It is so good! Of course it is sweet, but I believe it is not too sweet at all (at least not for me).
image

If you are an Oreo lover, you will definetely like this icecream, as it is not an icecream with Oreo flavor, but it is icecream that is made from Oreos. Genius! I can tell you that this is from now on, one of my favorite icecreams on a stick.

Love, Emily

Geef een reactie

