Recipe: Raspberry Pistachio Eton Mess

image

I don’t really know why, but Eton Mess was something that I wanted to make for quite a while, but for some reason I didn’t. And it can be so easy to make, especially when you have ready made merengue, so the lack of time could not be my excuse. But now, I finally tried to make it! And I even baked my own merengues for it!

Eton Mess is basically a layered dessert with cream, merengue and fruit and you can make many variations on this dessert. Because we all love red fruits the most in my family and it gives the dessert a nice and fresh look, I decided to make a raspberry Eton Mess. To give it some extra color, I topped it with some vibrant green pistachios. And I can tell you it was a crowd pleaser!

image

As I mentioned, making the dessert itself is fairly easy. Basically it consist of throwing all of the different ingredients on top of eachother. Why else would it be called ‘Mess’? It becomes a bit more complex when you have to make your own merengue like me. Or maybe not complex, but more time consuming. The drying of the merengue in the oven took me 90 minutes on 100 degrees Celcius. So you need to be prepared for that when you make your own merengue.

What do you need for 8 bowls of Eton Mess?

◾Either 6 medium merengues or:
◾3 egg whites
◾180 grams of sugar
◾a pinch of baking soda
◾1/2 a teaspoon vanilla extract

◾500 ml whipped cream
◾4 tablespoons of sugar
◾200 grams of frozen raspberries
◾a tablespoon of sugar
◾200 grams of fresh raspberries
◾pistachios

How to make the merengues:
1. Make sure the bowl you are using is fat free and super clean.
2. Whisk the egg whites and the sugar untill stiff peaks form.
3. Line a baking tray with parchment paper and make 8 heaps of merengue.
4. Bake in a pre-heated oven on 100 degrees Celcius for 90 minutes. This could be longer or shorter, depending on your oven.
5. Check if the merengues are ready by inserting a toothpick into the center. It should come out clean.
6. Let the merengues cool down.
image

Making the Eton Mess:

1. If you have to make your own merengue, do that first.
2. Put the frozen raspberries and a tablespoon of sugar in a food processor and turn it into a raspberry sauce.
3. Whip the whipped cream and 4 tablespoons of sugar together untill the cream is quite thick.
4. Get 8 bowls, glasses or in my case icecream coupes and crumble a layer of merengue on the bottom.
5. Spread a heaping tablespoon of whipped cream on top.
6. Drizzle the raspberry sauce over it and place some of the fresh raspberries on top.
7. Repeat all of layers, ending with a third layer of merengue, sauce and raspberries.
8. To garnish, sprinkle some pistachios on top.

image

It’s really easy, as you can tell, but so amazing because of all the different textures and flavors. It is sweet, sour and creamy. And I must say making the Eton Mess got actually a bit messy, with the crumbling of the merengues, but that’s part of the deal!

I do have a little confession to make though: I made a different variation for myself with yoghurt instead of whipped cream. I really, really don’t like whipped cream and figured yoghurt would be a nice substitution. This was delicious as well, so I absolutely didn’t regret it!

Love, Emily
image

2 gedachtes over “Recipe: Raspberry Pistachio Eton Mess

Geef een reactie

